Hand-cranks

In my last post I mentioned that I grew up sewing on a hand-crank straight-stitch machine. My mom’s machine was a Singer like one of these:8f093802-edcf-11e1-b3fe-0016e366dfbe1300133750_177349224_1-Singer-Sewing-Machine-Brand-New-Karimabad-1

These are still the standard home-use model in Pakistan, with a wooden base so they can be used by someone sitting on the floor. Sewing machines are a valuable possession in Pakistan and often an important way for a woman to earn an income. They are so ubiquitous that the English word “machine” by itself can only mean a sewing machine. Singers were the best but they had competition from local brands and from brands from China, Korea, and Japan. Here are some competitors:

550597Vintage Sewing Machine

 

One of my prized possessions is this miniature plastic toy sewing machine:

DSCN0884

If you turn the wheel, the needle goes up and down! And the lid on the side compartment is removable.

Eventually my mother got tired of the hand-crank and paid 160 Rupees to have a belt and motor put on. Like this lady’s:

sewing-maching-pakistan

But I was always a little terrified of the speed of the electric-powered needle. I’m still a bit scared when my machine starts galloping away at a swift pace!

 

 

Leave a Reply

